Academic Progress Policy - Crafton Hills College
Skip to main content

What is Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP)?

The United States Department of Education requires that students applying for financial assistance must be enrolled in a program for the purpose of completing an AA/AS Degree, transfer requirements, or certificate program. All students must have their academic progress reviewed to determine if Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) has been achieved.

To be eligible to receive federal and state financial aid, you must meet both standards; Qualitiative and Quantitative. Maintaining academic progress at Crafton means you must:

  1. Satisfactorily complete at least 67% of the units you attempt.
  2. Complete your educational program within the 150% maximum timeframe.
  3. Maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher.

Qualitative Standard

All students at Crafton Hills College (CHC)) must have a

Cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.0.

Quantitative Standard includes:

1. Pace of progression: Students must complete at least 67% of the total (cumulative) units attempted. For example, a student has attempted 20 units at Crafton Hills College. They successfully completed 13.5 of those units. Their completion would be 67.5% (units completed divided by units attempted equals completion percentage– 13.5 ÷ 20 = 67.5%).

2. Maximum Time Frame: The Maximum Time Frame for completion of a degree or certificate is 150% of the published length of the program. All units attempted at SBCCD as well as any transfer units will be included since the Maximum Time Frame is based upon units attempted. A student can receive financial assistance for a maximum of 150% of the published length of the program. For example, if the published length of a degree program is 60 units, the student may receive financial assistance for up to 90 attempted units (60 units x 150% = 90 units). If the published length of a certificate program is 40 units, the student may receive financial assistance up to 60 attempted units (40 units x 150% = 60 units). If students are unable to finish their program within the Maximum Time Frame, as explained, they may lose eligibility for Title IV aid.