The Educational Technology Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to develop and recommend policies for CHC Distance Learning. Reviews and makes revision recommendations for the Introduction to Online Teaching, Learning,  and Accessibility faculty certification course, as well as the process by which online instructors and courses are evaluated. The committee reviews and approves DE instructors and courses.

The committee reviews the success of the Distance Education program and makes recommendations for professional development to address identified deficiencies. Works with the SBCCD Distance Education Coordination Council. Develops recommendations related to the continued growth of the college’s Distance Education program to instructional support services, student services and the curriculum committee. Conducts an annual review and makes revision recommendations for the CHC Distance Education (DE) plan to ensure compliance with state and national DE standards, regulations, and guidelines.


  • Voting Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate, including the CHC Distance Education Faculty Lead, one faculty member from Student Services and one from Instructional Support (one member will also serve as the ETC representative to the Curriculum Committee).
  • Non-voting members: Vice President, Instruction or designee, Vice President of Student Services or designee, a representative from Technology Services and a representative from TESS.

2021-2022 Voting Members

  • Kelly Boebinger
  • T.L. Brink
  • Jeff Cervantez
  • Cynthia Hamlett (DE Faculty Lead and ETC Chair)
  • Peter Gend
  • Krista Ivy
  • Robert McAtee
  • Brandice Mello
  • Chris Olivera
  • Nicholas Reichert
  • Kristi Simonson

Meeting Schedule:

  • 2nd and 4th Wednesday, 1 to 2:30 p.m
  • Location: Zoom