Constituency Committees

Academic Senate Constituency Committees

Note that internal standing committees of the Academic Senate do not necessarily involve appointed representation from the other constituency groups. The internal standing committees of the Academic Senate make recommendations to the Academic Senate related to the assigned charge. Additionally, the standing committee must abide by all open meeting laws.

Basic Skills Committee

Charge: The Basic Skills Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to collaboratively develop,

coordinate and oversee the Basic Skills Initiative Plan, including the development of curriculum and student

support services for basic skills students and courses.

Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate, including one faculty representative from

Math, English, Reading, CTE, Counseling, DSPS, STE, EOPS, and the Tutoring Center.

Non-voting Members: Administrators as appointed; one student representative; one classified

representative.

Meeting Days and Times: 2nd and 4th Wednesdays (as needed), 12-1

Term: 2 years

Chairs Council

Charge: Chairs Council is authorized by the Academic Senate to develop and recommend processes including, but not limited to, Chair's training, departmental budgeting, planning and program review, program viability, flex calendar, scheduling and facilities use, and syllabi recommendations.

Voting Members: Faculty Chairs

Non-voting Members: Vice President, Instruction and three Instructional Deans.

Meeting Days and Times: 1st and 3rd Friday at 8:30am

Term: Two years

Curriculum Committee

Charge: The Curriculum Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to make recommendations to the Board of Trustees about the curriculum of the college, including approval of new courses, deletion of existing courses, proposed changes in courses, periodic review of course outlines, review of degree and certificate requirements, approval of changes in degree and certificate requirements, and approval of prerequisites and co-requisites.

Voting Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate including the faculty member holding the position of CHC Articulation Officer and a faculty representative from the Educational Technology Committee.

Non-voting Members: Vice-President of Instruction, Instructional deans and the dean of counseling,

Admission and Records Evaluator, Curriculum Secretary, Schedule/Catalog Data Specialist and a student representative.

Meeting Days and Times: 2nd and 4th Monday at 2pm

Term: Three years

Educational Policies Committee

Charge: The Educational Policies Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to develop proposals

for new policies and reviews proposed changes in existing policies that directly affect the educational

programs of the college.

Voting Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate.

Meeting Days and Times: 2nd and 4th Wednesday at 12pm

Term: One year

Educational Technology Committee

Charge: The Educational Technology Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to develop and recommends policies involving the use of technology for education. Reviews and revises as necessary the Intro to online learning course(s) (CHC 062), as well as the process by which online instructors and courses are evaluated. The committee reviews and approves eLearning instructors and courses. The committee reviews the success of the eLearning program and makes recommendations for professional development to address identified deficiencies. Develops and provides content for the CHC eLearning portal. Updates and revises the distributed Ed Plan(s). Develops recommendations related to the continued growth of the college's eLearning program to instructional support services, student services and the curriculum committee for eLearning programs and students. Conducts an annual review and make revision recommendations for the CHC Distance Education (DE) plan to ensure compliance with state and national DE standards, regulations, and guidelines.

Voting Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate, including one faculty member from Student Services and one from Instructional Support (one member will also serve as the ETC representative to the Curriculum Committee).

Non-voting Members: Vice President, Instruction or designee, Vice President of Student Services or designee, a representative from Technology Services and a representative from TESS.

Meeting Days and Times: 1st and 3rd Wednesday at 1pm

Term: One year

Honors Steering Committee

Charge: The Honors Steering Committee is authorized by the Academic Senate to make recommendations regarding student admission, standards, curriculum, activities and other issues pertinent to the College Honors Institute.

Voting Members: Faculty members as appointed by the Academic Senate, including the Faculty Coordinator(s) of the College Honors Institute, the designated Honors counselor(s), the Articulation Officer, at least one faculty representative from each division and no more than two representatives from any one discipline. (Faculty members should have taught, be currently teaching, or be preparing to teach an Honors course.)

Non-voting members: One administrative representative from the Office of Instruction, one Classified Representative, and one Honors Student Representative (must be enrolled in an Honors course).

Meeting Days and Times: 1st Monday, 11:00am

Term: One year